StogieRate.com logo
Gurkha Wicked Indie by East India Trading Co, Toro

Gurkha, Wicked Indie by East India Trading Co

Toro, 6 x 54
Country: Dominican Republic
Wrapper: Nicaraguan Habano

REVIEW INFORMATION

Review date 6/24/2013
Reviewer Doc (StogieFresh.info)
89.8
Overall 89.8
Review # 0971
Cigar age 1 yr. 4.6 mo.

REVIEW NOTES

BACKGROUND: This postscript review is on Wicked Indie by East India Trading Company. I first featured the Indie back in Episode 308 of the Stogie Fresh 5 podcast on Saturday, March 10, 2012. These cigars have now been resting in my humidor for 1 year, 4.7 months and I pulled out two more this past week for this postscript review.

Gurkha Wicked Indie Toro

The Wicked Indie was the first cigar released under the East India Trading Company, a trademark owned by Gurkha and one of the oldest registered trademarks in the world. The Wicked Indie is a Nicaraguan puro that has been blended for a rich and complex taste profile without breaking the bank. With a MSRP ranging from $4.79-5.90, the Wicked Indie comes at a wickedly nice price.

The blend is comprised of a Nicaraguan Habano wrapper that covers a carefully selected Nicaraguan binder and Nicaraguan filler tobaccos that have been aged for 3-years. The cigars are housed in rustic 50-count wooden boxes and are available in 4 sizes: a 5 x 52 Robusto, a 7 x 50 Churchill a 6 x 60 XO and the cigar I’m revisiting today, a 6 x 54 Toro.

Gurkha Wicked Indie Toro

TASTING NOTES: The Indie started with grassy notes and with white pepper spice on the retrohale. After a few puffs I noted a roasted nut character and nuances of medium roast coffee. This is a very easy cigar to smoke. It is medium in body and strength and medium full in flavor and should appeal to a wide range of cigar smokers.

The burn line was slightly blistered and pushed out of shape, but the draw was excellent and the cigar did not display any significant burn issues. The ash was slightly flaky on the outer edges, but was firm enough for it to hang on in 1-inch chunks. During the first half, the Indie displayed solid construction and was a pleasure to smoke. In fact, the Wicked Indie has always been a pleasure to smoke and can be smoked at any time throughout the day. It will not burn out your palate and, thus, would be an excellent cigar to add to a multi-cigar lineup.

Gurkha Wicked Indie Toro

FINAL THOUGHTS: During the second half the Indie showed good sweetness and more roasted nuts on the palate and on the retrohale it was warm with a great aroma and more hints of roasted coffee. A big difference between this review and the one I did a year ago was that the retrohale has tamed down. Last year the retrohale displayed a searing white pepper spice all the way through the smoke. This time around, the white pepper was prominent at the beginning, but smoothed considerably during the second half.

Gurkha Wicked Indie Toro

This is a cigar that will likely appeal to new cigar smokers and for others who only have time for one smoke and want it to be a tasty one. The Indie is a complex smoke and changes in flavor profile from grassy and sharp flavors at the beginning, to warm, nutty and coffee and cream flavors in the second half.

There's nothing not to like about these sticks, including the price tag. The Wicked Indie Toro can be had for around $4.90 per stick. It is medium in body and strength and therefore would be approachable to most cigar smokers. So, if you want an interesting and pleasant smoke, without breaking the bank, choose the Wicked Indie and I think you'll like what you find.

~Doc

STORAGE NOTES

I have a bundle of these cigars, which I've kept bundled in the original cellophane sack and each cigar has a cellophane wrapper that I've left intact. The bundle is located in my Aristocrat Mini cabinet humidor that has an active humidification system set at 68%RH.

This is the second and final postscript review of these cigars that have been resting in my humidor for 1 year, 4 months and 22 days.

ADDITIONAL IMAGES

Cigar Info Page » for Gurkha, Wicked Indie by East India Trading Co


RELATED REVIEWS

96.5


OTHER RECENT REVIEWS ON THIS SITE

Review 2 weeks ago

PDR 1878 Natural Roast Cafe reviewed by Pudealee

Read »

Review 2 weeks ago

Drew Estate Kentucky Fire Cured reviewed by Pudealee

Read »

Review 6 weeks ago

Tatuaje Monster #13 - The Bride of Frankenstein (2018) reviewed by live4cigars

Read »

Review 14 weeks ago

Diplomaticos (Cuba) Regular Production reviewed by Pudealee

Read »

Review 16 weeks ago

Cohiba (Cuba) Siglo Series reviewed by Pudealee

Read »

FEEDBACK

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

0 Review Comments Review comments
Loading comments... Loading comments...
Please login or register if you would like to post a comment