StogieRate.com logo
Nestor Miranda Grand Reserve 2011, Torpedo

Nestor Miranda, Grand Reserve 2011

Torpedo, 6.1 x 52
Country: Nicaragua
Wrapper: USA/Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro

REVIEW INFORMATION

Review date 5/20/2013
Reviewer Doc (StogieFresh.info)
92.2
Overall 92.2
Review # 0964
Cigar age 1 yr. 5.2 mo.

REVIEW NOTES

BACKGROUND: I first featured the Nestor Miranda Grand Reserve on my weekly podcast in Episode 305 back on Saturday, February 11, 2012. These cigars have now been resting in my humidor for 1 year, 5 months and 5 days and I pulled out a couple of samples this past week for this review.

The Nestor Miranda 2011 Grand Reserve was as the company’s first “ultra-premium” cigar. The blend is a result of the collaboration between Nestor Miranda and his Miami Cigar & Company and My Father Cigars and Don Pepin Garcia. The Miranda–Pepin Garcia alliance has delivered such cigars as the Art Deco, the Special Selection and the Dominicano.

The Grand Reserve is made in Garcia's Nicaraguan factory and is comprised of all Nicaraguan filler and binder tobaccos with a USA, Connecticut Broadleaf wrapper.

Nestor Miranda Grand Reserve 2011

The Grand Reserve comes in 10-count boxes and in a single size, the 6.25 x 52 ring gauge box-pressed torpedo.

Made in Nicaragua, Grand Reserve was first released in 2011 as a small batch cigar with only 10,000 sticks made. The cigar was re-released again in 2012 with a production of 15,000, cigars. I paid around $10 per cigar for the 2011, while the 2012’s are selling for around $12 a pop.

TASTING NOTES: As with a year ago, this cigar started with an explosion of spicy sweetness. This is a typical characteristic of Pepin-made cigars that many, including myself, have grown to love. Nevertheless, it is predictable, leading many to think that the flavor profile of too many of Garcia’s cigars is too similar.

Nestor Miranda Grand Reserve 2011

The Grand Reserve is fuller in body and flavor than most of Nestor Miranda’s portfolio and yet is not overpowering. Besides being full in flavor, the body is medium-full and the cigar displays a host of complex flavors and nuances. I noted dark roasted coffee, vanilla, and oak rum barrel. The retrohale still provides a searing white pepper spice, but not as severe as a year ago.

The draw and burn on this cigar were exceptional and I had no problems with any aspect of the performance. A year ago I complained that the cigar seemed to be a bit under-humidified and had a tendency to burn a bit too quickly. That was not the case this time around and the burn was nicely paced.

Nestor Miranda Grand Reserve 2011

FINAL THOUGHTS: In the second half, the cigar developed in natural tobacco sweetness. It also developed in intensity and finished medium-full in body, flavor and medium in strength.

In my last review, I had the distinct impression that the Grand Reserve would age well. That turned out to be an understatement because the Grand Reserve performed better in every category this time around. The cigar displayed a great burn, draw, construction and flavor profile. This is a knock out of a cigar. And, I don’t believe it’s peaked yet. I look for this cigar to get even better in the coming year. I can't wait to try the Grand Reserve 2012!

At around $10 per stick, I can highly recommend these smokes… if you can get your hands on them. The 2011’s might be all gone, but you can likely still get your hands on the 2012. For all of you fans of big, flavorful and complex cigars, this one is your ticket to the Bigs.

~Doc

STORAGE NOTES

I purchased these cigars in a box of 10 and have left them in their original box with their cellophane wrappers intact. The box is stored in my Aristocrat Mini cabinet humidor with an active humidification system set at 68%RH.

These cigars have been resting for a total of 1 year, 5 months and 5 days.

ADDITIONAL IMAGES

Cigar Info Page » for Nestor Miranda, Grand Reserve 2011


RELATED REVIEWS

Rated by Doc on 3/13/2012 Read »

90.2


OTHER RECENT REVIEWS ON THIS SITE

Review 23 hours ago

Oliva Gilberto Oliva Reserva Blanc reviewed by Mickey

Read »

Review 2 weeks ago

Tatuaje Skinny Monsters reviewed by Mickey

Read »

Review 3 weeks ago

Camacho Criollo reviewed by Mickey

Read »

Review 4 weeks ago

Man O’War Ruination reviewed by Mickey

Read »

Review 5 weeks ago

Juan Lopez (Cuba) Regular Production reviewed by Pudealee

Read »

FEEDBACK

Did you find this review helpful?

0 Review Comments Review comments
Loading comments... Loading comments...
Please login or register if you would like to post a comment