StogieRate.com logo
Quesada Seleccion Espana, Petit Robusto

Quesada, Seleccion Espana

Petit Robusto, 4 x 50
Country: Dominican Republic
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Arapiraca

REVIEW INFORMATION

Review date 6/10/2013
Reviewer Doc (StogieFresh.info)
90.9
Overall 90.9
Review # 0968
Cigar age 1 yr. 4.3 mo.
StogieRate.com Sponsors
Experience the World Through the Eyes of an Icon
Partagas Ramon y Ramon
Punch Yeti Football
CAO Flathead Cigar

REVIEW NOTES

BACKGROUND: I first reviewed the Quesada Selección España in Episode 306 of my Stogie Fresh 5 podcast on Saturday, February 18, 2012. These stogies have been resting in one of my cabinet humidors for 1 year, 4 months and 9 days and I pulled out a couple of samples last week for this postscript review.

El Original Maduro Corona

Cuban cigars have always popular in Spain. We all know that Columbus introduced tobacco to Spain, but subsequently Spain also introduced world commerce to Cuba. As one of the world powers of the day, the Spanish government took over the tobacco trade in Cuba in 1557, which lasted, with some interruptions, for over 200 years.

Centuries have passed and Spain is no longer dictating the fortunes of Cuba, but they still enjoy their Cuban cigars. Unfortunately, high unemployment and the high cost of Cuban cigars have driven the Spanish to search out alternatives.

The Quesada family in the Dominican Republic has answered the call. A few years ago, they brought Spanish Tobacconists to the Dominican Republic to work on a cigar exclusively for the Spanish market and, after a week of blending, a new cigar was born: the Quesada Selección España.

The Quesada España possesses a distinctive taste, yet is reminiscent of the Cuban cigars the Spanish are familiar with.

Although, from the beginning, the manufacturer maintained that the cigar would remain just for the Spanish market, these sticks are widely available through select retail account holders in the U.S.

This week’s featured stogie is the 4-inch by 50 ring gauge Quesada España Petit Robusto.

El Original Maduro Corona

TASTING NOTES: A year ago, this cigar started quick with a good dose of coffee and cedar. This time around there was a lovely sweetness that had an earthy undertone. In my last review I noted a lot of complexity, but not this time around. It seemed more straightforward and with fewer layers to the flavor profile.

I’ve read some reviews by people who say they don’t like this cigar. But, we must not be smoking the same cigar because I love this smoke. It could be that they were reviewing a different vitola. I'm convinced that a person's likes or dislikes of any cigar has to be decided on a vitola by vitola basis. In other words, the length, ring gauge and shape of the cigar will all play a role in how the cigar tastes.

After the first inch, there were notes of herbs and black pepper spice that emerged on the palate. The retrohale produced notes of cloves and a spicy sweetness.

El Original Maduro Corona

This short robusto smoked well and had a nice draw and an even burn line. I did experience a crack in the wrapper leaf, which was caused by removing the bands… both of them. Note to self: Removing two bands = twice as much chance of screwing it up.

FINAL THOUGHTS: The Quesada España Petit Robusto is a great short smoke with robust flavors and excellent construction.

This is a cigar that should prove challenging to the experienced smoker, but won’t overpower a newbie. I can recommend this as an after dinner smoke with your favorite aged whiskey or craft beer.

El Original Maduro Corona

With an extra year of age, this cigar has lost some of its complexity, but it still stays in-your-face with explosive flavor and good body on the palate. The retrohale was also fulminating and bathed my nasal mucosa in full spice.

This is a cigar for those of you with a hankering for adventure. The España Petit Robusto is sure to liven up an otherwise humdrum day.

~Doc

STORAGE NOTES

I have kept these cigars in their original box with cellophane wrappers intact. They are being stored in my converted wine cooler cabinet with an Oasis active humidification system providing the humidity.

This is the second and final podcast review. These cigars have been resting in my humidor for 1 year, 4 months and 9 days.

ADDITIONAL IMAGES

Cigar Info Page » for Quesada, Seleccion Espana


RELATED REVIEWS

91.0

Rated by Doc on 3/16/2012 Read »

92.7

75.0


OTHER RECENT REVIEWS ON THIS SITE

Review 4 weeks ago

G.A.R. by George Rico Opium reviewed by GunnyJ

Read »

Review 4 weeks ago

Cohiba Classic reviewed by GunnyJ

Read »

Review 6 weeks ago

Flor de las Antillas by My Father Cigars reviewed by GunnyJ

Read »

Review 6 weeks ago

Alec Bradley Family Blend The Lineage reviewed by GunnyJ

Read »

Review 6 weeks ago

Padron Padron Series Maduro reviewed by GunnyJ

Read »

FEEDBACK

Did you find this review helpful?

0 Review Comments Review comments
Loading comments... Loading comments...
Please login or register if you would like to post a comment