Para Japon by La Aurora Sumo Robusto, Robusto

Para Japon by La Aurora, Sumo Robusto

Robusto, 5 x 50
Country: Dominican Republic
Wrapper: Nicaragua

REVIEW INFORMATION

Review date 10/27/2012
Reviewer Doc (StogieFresh.info)
90.5
Overall 90.5
Review # 0905
Cigar age 1 yr. 6.9 mo.
StogieRate.com Sponsors
Experience the World Through the Eyes of an Icon
Partagas Ramon y Ramon
Punch Yeti Football
CAO Flathead Cigar

REVIEW NOTES

BACKGROUND: This postscript review is on the Para Japon, which is made at the La Aurora cigar factory in the Dominican Republic. I first featured this cigar on the Stogie Fresh 5 podcast in Episode 269 back on Sunday, May 1, 2011. These cigars were aged in the La Aurora factory aging room for 3 years prior to distribution and they have now been resting in my humidor for 1 year, 6 months prior to this review. So, all in all, these cigars have more than 4.5 years of age on them.

Now a little background on these sticks… As most of you know, on March 11, 2011, an 8.9 magnitude earthquake devastated the island nation of Japan and the tsunami that followed caused widespread damage on an unprecedented level.

Para Japon by La Aurora

Mario Takeyama, founder of the CigarExplorer.com was the first to mention the idea of a charity cigar. I was with Mario and several other bloggers in the Dominican Republic, when, on a beach called Costambar, he shared his thoughts with Guillermo León, president of the La Aurora cigar company, who embraced the concept wholeheartedly.

León was especially touched by the plight of Japan and he decided to lend his company’s aid to the Japanese people by announcing the release of a special edition cigar to help the humanitarian response to this disaster.

The Para Japón was released in only one size, a 5 inch by 50 ring Robusto.

Para Japon by La Aurora

TASTING NOTES: After an extra year of age in my humidor, the Para Japón has changed its flavor profile. A year ago this cigar started with a grassy flavor and a hoppy bite on the finish. This time around the cigar was showing a lot of complexity with light cedar, wild oats and a honey-like sweetness. This nice sweetness lingered briefly on the palate and then was replaced by raw earthiness and a touch of espresso on the finish.

Retrohaling the smoke adds oak wine barrel and floral notes that remind me of some good Cuban cigars that I’ve smoked.

The draw and burn were nearly perfect and the medium-gray ash was slightly flaky but firm enough to allow me to tap off in half-inch chunks.

I’ve smoked 6-8 of these cigars and the ones I smoked a year ago experienced some uneven burn lines and some blistering around the edges. However, that characteristic has all but vanished and the cigars are now burning exceptionally well. Chalk up a few points for patient aging.

Para Japon by La Aurora

FINAL THOUGHTS: The Para Japón is a delight to smoke. With excellent construction and burn and great complexity, this is a must-try cigar, IF you can still get your hands on them. The cigar is medium in body flavor and strength and, as a result, would likely appeal to a wide range of cigar smokers. Stay on the lookout for these sticks and be ready to enjoy a fine smoke.

~Doc

STORAGE NOTES

These cigars were provided to me by the factory as pre-release samples. These cigars were aged in the La Aurora factory aging room for 3 years prior to distribution and they have now been resting in my humidor for 1 year, 6 months prior to this review. So this tobacco has some extended aging. They came wrapped in cellophane sleeves, which I have left intact. This is the second and final podcast review.

ADDITIONAL IMAGES

Cigar Info Page » for Para Japon by La Aurora, Sumo Robusto

RELATED REVIEWS

92.2

92.7

Rated by Doc on 5/17/2011 Read »

90.9

85.5

88.2

89.9


OTHER RECENT REVIEWS ON THIS SITE

Review 12 hours ago

Cohiba Blue reviewed by Pudealee

Read »

Review 6 days ago

Padron Padron Series Natural reviewed by Mickey

Read »

Review 6 days ago

Ortega Wild Bunch 2013 reviewed by Mickey

Read »

Review 2 weeks ago

Perdomo Lot 23 Maduro reviewed by adamw24

Read »

Review 2 weeks ago

Old Henry Corojo reviewed by Mickey

Read »

FEEDBACK

Did you find this review helpful?

0 Review Comments Review comments
Loading comments... Loading comments...
Please login or register if you would like to post a comment