RoMa Craft Tobac Intemperance BA XXI, Avarice (Short Robusto)

RoMa Craft Tobac, Intemperance BA XXI

Avarice (Short Robusto), 4.5 x 52
Country: Nicaragua
Wrapper: Brazilian Arapiraca

REVIEW INFORMATION

Review date 5/7/2012
Reviewer Doc (StogieFresh.info)
88.2
Overall 88.2
Review # 0868
Cigar age 0 yr. 0.8 mo.
StogieRate.com Sponsors
Punch Yeti Football
CAO Flathead Cigar
Experience the World Through the Eyes of an Icon
Partagas Ramon y Ramon

REVIEW NOTES

The Intemperance

BACKGROUND: Just over a year ago, I featured the CroMagnon EMH, which was, at that time, a new cigar from Michael Rosales’ Adrian’s Costa Rican cigars. However, things would change drastically in the New Year... On January 24, 2012, Rosales and Skip Martin announced the formation of a new boutique cigar company called, RoMa Craft Tobac. The new entity combined the operations of Rosales’ Costa Rican Imports and Martin’s Galveston Bay Tobacco and will offer such cigars as Adrians, CroMagnon, CroMagnon Aquitaine, Intemperance, Thirty and Hava Cigar brands.

This week’s featured cigar is the first new blend since the formation of RoMa Craft Tobac. It’s called the Intemperance and is produced in the Esteli, Nicaragua factory owned by Rosales and Martin.

The branding for Intemperance evokes the history of prohibition in the United States and features a logo inspired by the temperance movement in the form of a political propaganda poster produced in 1855.

Despite the dismal failure of the temperance movement and prohibition, the desire of some political types to legislate the freedoms of other Americans continues to march on. The current political climate seems to be following the same path today in the form of the anti-tobacco movement, which intends nothing short of another prohibition, this time against tobacco.

The cigar I’m featuring today is the Intemperance BA XXI. The BA stands for Brazil Arapiraca and the Roman numeral XXI represents the 21st Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, that which repealed prohibition.

The Intemperance is presented in two wrapper varietals and four vitolas. This review will feature the 4.5-inch by 52 ring gauge Short Robusto.

TASTING NOTES: Out of the gate, the Avarice displays a savory character that reminds me of barbecued steak. After that, there is a mellowing sweetness and vanilla character that is smooth and aromatic.

This RoMa Craft implementation of the Brazilian Arapiraca wrapper is smooth, almost creamy and with a touch of wood and natural tobacco sweetness. I say, “interpretation” because there are many cigars in the market with an Arapiraca wrapper, but by skillfully blending the tobaccos, a producer can come up with a wide variety of smokes. The Carlos Toraño 50 years has a maduro fermented leaf, as does the La Caridad del Cobre Charada, while the Quesada Selección España uses an Ecuadorian Arapiraca. All these cigars vary widely in their flavor and body profiles and are proof that it is nearly impossible to copy a cigar blend using the exact same tobaccos if they are grown in different farms, regions and/or countries, or if the curing and fermentation methods have been varied, or if the leaves come from different levels of the plant, or if the blend ratios have been changed. Thus, it is always a mystery to me why some manufacturers won’t give us even the most basic facts about their blend, like simply the country of origin. This is a mistake by any manufacturer and does not respect the intelligence of today's cigar consumer, in my opinion.

RoMa Craft logo with cigar

The Avarice proved to be well constructed with an even burn and a draw that was ideal. The medium gray ash was firm and hugged the cigar until I decided to tap off in 1-inch chunks.

This cigar was medium in body and strength and medium-full in flavor.

During the second half, the finish became a bit longer and coated my palate with tobacco and medium-roast coffee flavors. There was a little pepper that also showed itself in the retrohale during second half.

A slightly uneven aftertaste told me that this cigar would most likely be enhanced with a few months spent in my humidor.

The construction and burn continued to be excellent with a straight burn line and a smooth and even draw.

Intemperance burn characteristics

FINAL THOUGHTS: The Intemperance Brazilian Arapiraca is an all-purpose cigar that would be equally at home during a herf, out in the yard and on the golf course. My first impression was that this would be an easily approachable cigar for any cigar smoker and would also be a cigar that could be smoked at any time of day.

At $6 per stick for the Avarice, this is a cigar that you can smoke and you can hand out to your friends, no matter how much experience they have with cigars, and know that it will be an affordable, interesting and accessible smoke.

After pairing this with my own roasted Ethiopian Harrar, I would recommend pairing this with your favorite cup of coffee in the morning, afternoon or evening and also with your favorite bourbon.

But, above all, when you smoke this cigar, be sure to smoke to intemperance and to our freedom to enjoy tobacco. And, let the 21st amendment and the repeal of Prohibition to become our constant reminder to never let such an abomination happen again, least of all with our precious premium smokes.

~Doc

STORAGE NOTES

These cigars are stored as singles on a shelf in my Aristocrat M+ cabinet humidor. They are protected by individual cellophane wrappers, which I've left intact. This is the first of two podcast reviews on these sticks, which have been aging in my humidor for 3.5 weeks.

ADDITIONAL IMAGES

Cigar Info Page » for RoMa Craft Tobac, Intemperance BA XXI

RELATED REVIEWS

Rated by Doc on 7/24/2013 Read »

90.3


OTHER RECENT REVIEWS ON THIS SITE

Review 12 hours ago

Cohiba Blue reviewed by Pudealee

Read »

Review 6 days ago

Padron Padron Series Natural reviewed by Mickey

Read »

Review 6 days ago

Ortega Wild Bunch 2013 reviewed by Mickey

Read »

Review 2 weeks ago

Perdomo Lot 23 Maduro reviewed by adamw24

Read »

Review 2 weeks ago

Old Henry Corojo reviewed by Mickey

Read »

FEEDBACK

Did you find this review helpful?

0 Review Comments Review comments
Loading comments... Loading comments...
Please login or register if you would like to post a comment